8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids By Dr. Todd Cartmell

8 Simple Rules

8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids

By Dr. Todd Cartmell

I’ve raised 3 kids and I’m now raising my grandchild. I find that there are sometimes issues that I have trouble dealing with and I need some fresh perspective. I found a book called  8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids by Dr. Todd Cartmell and thought maybe I could get some hints from it.  Dr. Cartmell is a clinical child psychologist who has written a number of books on parenting. I could tell from the start that it was a no nonsense book with plenty of good information in it. The book is laid out in chapter form with a number of common issues, each with chapters relevant to that issue. For instance, the first issue, or tool, is Talking. The chapters are Control Your Volume Button, If Unsure Press the Pause Button, Start With You, etc. I found the suggestions to be easy to understand and apply. As a matter of fact, I found that there were many tools that are useful in my relationship with my husband as well. I have been taking my time with this book, as it has a lot to offer but I think is best accomplished over time rather than in a rush.  Dr. Cartmell brings all of this to us in as simple of terms as possible so that it’s easy to relate and put to use the tools that he proposes. The goal is to raise well behaved children in a positive way, creating a home environment that is positive and a relationship that is healthy. It is also faith based but not in an in-your-face kind of way. I think the extra attention to suggestions based on Christian values and how to accomplish them is welcome.

8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids By Dr. Todd Cartmell was sent to me for free courtesy of FlyBy Productions for the purpose of review.

 

About Jeanine

I'm a mom to 3 great kids, a gramma to 2 lovely grandkids, and a wife to my awesome hubby of 42 years. I love to debunk scams and helpful hints that aren't helpful, do reviews, and enter giveaways. I even run a few giveaways here and there. Come check my site out and enter whenever you like.

Posted on April 12, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved this book!! Great info for any age and perfect for any parent! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

susiesopinions

Life at age 75, feeling like a 20 year old. You can do it too.

tasty meditation

Tales from a Gluten Free Kitchen

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Southern is a State of Mind – where they drink sweet tea and they raise you to be polite…

The Girl with Book Lungs

Live and breathe books.

CountryMomma

"So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love." 1 Corinthians 13:13

*Stephanies Blog*

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Confessions of Invictus

A Crunchy City Gal Mama

JUST ANOTHER DAY...

Everyday is a new day

The Cajun Hippie Mama

Loving Life While I Live It!

Living Loving Lennon

product reviews for the modern mom

BellsBloggin

From product reviews to a little of my every day life..Come one,Come all!

Self Sustained Living Today

Learning to live outside the box

Smart savings

tips and tricks to get you through the day