The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson

SONY DSC

 

The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson

What a delightful novel! I wondered when I read the title if this was actually the story of Rapunzel. I was more than pleased when I dug into the book that it was indeed Rapunzel but told with a fresh perspective. Rapunzel was a maiden who lived with her mother. In the beginning of the book, Rapunzel and her mother are travelling to a town her mother had once lived in.  Rapunzel ponders many of the things her mother has taught her, and why she isn’t to befriend anyone. Her hair is always to be covered and her clothing useful but ugly. Nothing to draw any attention to her is to be used or worn. Even speaking to someone of the opposite sex has sent them seeking a new place to live. Mother is intent on keeping Rapunzel with her forever.

On the road, Mother and Rapunzel are waylaid by robbers when Sir Gerek happens by and rescues them. When Sir Gerek is injured, Rapunzel and her mother are forced to help the knight back to a monastery outside of Hagenheim to be healed. Hagenheim is their destination as well, so they deliver the knight to the monastery and they are on their way. Mother is quite suspicious of the knight and thinks that they will not cross paths again, but Rapunzel decides to ask the monastery to help her learn to read in exchange for doing housework. In a twist of fate, the father decides to have Sir Gerek teach Rapunzel, as he has nothing to do until he is healed enough to ride home.

There were so many great plot twists and turns that this story was hard to put down. Although this story did have references to God, it was not preachy in the least. I want to read more from this author.

I was sent this promotional book for free from a book guild for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Ms. Dickerson or anyone but myself.

About Jeanine

I'm a mom to 3 great kids, a gramma to 2 lovely grandkids, and a wife to my awesome hubby of 38 years. I love to debunk scams and helpful hints that aren't helpful, do reviews, and enter giveaways. I even run a few giveaways here and there. Come check my site out and enter whenever you like.

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

frogreviewsandramblings.com/

My life, My Kids/Grandkids , My Thoughts & Ramblings

Mimi's Marks

My Views and Re-views of Great (and not so great) Products ... and sometimes life in general!

susiesopinions

My reviews of Amazon products

CountryMomma

"So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love." 1 Corinthians 13:13

*Stephanies Blog*

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Confessions of Invictus

A Crunchy City Gal Mama

JUST ANOTHER DAY...

Everyday is a new day

The Cajun Hippie Mama

Loving Life While I Live It!

Living Loving Lennon

product reviews for the modern mom

BellsBloggin

From product reviews to a little of my every day life..Come one,Come all!

Self Sustained Living Today

Learning to live outside the box

Smart savings

tips and tricks to get you through the day

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

Book Reviews, Recommendations & Random Thoughts - Giveaways too!

